Member States

The European Defence Agency (EDA) is an intergovernmental agency of the Council of the European Union. Currently, 26 countries – all EU Member States except Denmark – participate in EDA.

Following the mission of the Agency, “to support the Member States and the Council in their effort to improve European defence capabilities (…)” cooperation with the Member States is very close; be it on the top-level through the Steering Board which sets EDA’s priorities or at the working level in expert teamsIndeed, EDA currently connects around 4,000 national based-experts in cooperative defence projects. On a monthly basis, the Agency receives around 1,000 visitors in its premises in Brussels ensuring that projects are tightly knit to Member States’ needs. 

Member States contribute to the Agency’s annual budget according to a GNP-based formula and approve its work plan. Through the Agency’s “à la carte” approach, Member States can decide whether or not to participate in Agency projects according to national needs. Likewise, the results achieved by the Agency are for the benefit of its Member States.

Administrative Arrangements with non-EU members

The Agency signed Administrative Arrangements with Norway (2006), Switzerland (2012), the Republic of Serbia (2013) and Ukraine (2015) enabling them to participate in EDA’s projects and programmes.

All Administrative Arrangements are approved by the European Council. The Head of the Agency is responsible for negotiating these arrangements in accordance with directives given by the EDA Steering Board.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden