EDA collects defence data on an annual basis. The Ministries of Defence of the Agency's 27 participating Member States (all EU Member States except Denmark) provide the data. EDA acts as the custodian of the data, and every year publishes the figures of the previous year once these are noted by the Agency's Steering Board. On occasion, the data can be revised during the year. The calendar year is that running from 1 January to 31 December.

The data are broken down, based on a list of indicators approved by the Agency’s Ministerial Steering Board. These indicators are grouped under five sections:

  • Total Defence Expenditure

    Illustrates how defence budgets relate to GDP and overall government spending.

  • Defence Personnel

    Shows the ratio between military and civilian personnel and provides information on defence expenditure and investment per military.

  • Defence Expenditure Breakdown

    Provides data on the major defence expenditure categories – personnel; investment, including research & development (R&D)/research & technology (R&T); operations & maintenance (O&M), and other – to show what defence budgets are spent on.

  • European collaboration

    For defence equipment procurement and R&T, demonstrates to what extent the Agency’s participating Member States are investing together.

  • Deployability

    Shows the ratio between the military deployed in crisis management operations and the remaining military personnel, and provides data on deployable and sustainable forces, as well as on costs of deployed  operations.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden