EDA Annual Conf Banner

The European Defence Agency’s 2018 Annual Conference is devoted to unmanned and autonomous systems, a critical topic high on national and European decision makers’ agendas.

The rise of unmanned and autonomous systems brings opportunities for Europe’s military, as well as challenges, among others on doctrines, concepts of operation and legacy systems. Technological challenges, including in Artificial Intelligence and robotics, will determine the future of these systems to a large extent.

We are honoured to announce high-level participants, including keynote speakers Federica Mogherini, Head of the European Defence Agency, High Representative and Vice-President of the European Commission, Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society, Dr Wolfgang Baumann, Secretary-General of the Austrian Ministry of Defence on behalf of the Austrian Presidency of the Council of the European Union, and General Claudio Graziano, Chairman-designate of the European Union Military Committee.

Two roundtables with high-level government representatives, industry leaders, senior military officers, and experts will examine how Member States are adapting to unmanned and autonomous systems from a concept, personnel, skills, acquisition and research perspective. More information on the programme will be released closer to the date.

The European Defence Agency’s annual conference is the rendez-vous for decision makers to discuss European defence cooperation. Please note that only invited guests can register for the EDA Annual Conference 2018. All registrations are subject to confirmation by EDA.

Important notice: The registration to the EDA Annual conference is closed. Should you have any questions, please contact us via annualconference2018@eda.europa.eu for more information.


Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden