Latest News

EDA launches 'European Funding Gateway' for defence

Brussels - 23 February, 2018

To support the defence sector in accessing European funding, the EDA now provides industry, Ministries of Defence/Armed Forces, research-and-technology organisations, academia with a comprehensive European Funding Gateway for defence, encompassing:

  • EDA ad-hoc schemes: both Cat.A and Cat.B;
  • European Defence Fund (EDF): Preparatory Action (PADR) and forthcoming European Defence Industrial Development Programme (EDIDP);
  • European Structural and Investment Funds (ESIF), including the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), its 'Interreg' share and the European Social Fund (ESF);
  • European Investment Bank (EIB)’s major project financing;
  • EU COSME Programme: financial instruments and grants supporting access to markets;
  • Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) and its Single European Sky ATM Research-window (SESAR);
  • Erasmus+: Learning mobility, Strategic Partnerships and Knowledge Alliances; 
  • Horizon 2020 for dual-use projects: Thematic areas, SME instrument and financial instruments.

This interactive Gateway to European funding serves defence priorities under the Strategic Research Agendas in defence and their Technology Building Blocks (OSRA-TBBs), as well as Key Strategic Activities (KSA). It also supports EDA industry engagement.

All defence-related stakeholders can access a:

  • comparative view per funding dimension to compare each relevant criterion one-by-one across the many funding opportunities; and
  • detailed view per funding source to explore each specific European funding opportunity in detail.

The EDA’s European Funding Gateway is a result of the collaboration between EDA and several Institutions, including the European Commission (DG GROW, DG EMPL, DG EAC, DG RTD, DG REGIO) and the European Investment Bank Group.




Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden