Factsheet Materiel Standardisation

Download file 14 March 2014

The harmonisation of applied defence standards in Europe is a key enabler for interoperability of materiel used by European forces. Moreover it is a prerequisite for a successful cooperation of participating Member States of the European Defence Agency (EDA) and their partners in the whole life cycle of defence equipment starting from the development phase, testing and evaluation of material, maintenance up to the disposal of equipment. Estimations on product cost savings following the more intensive use of civil standards by the military sector range from 10% up to 50%.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden