Participating Countries
All EDA member states



The European Defence Agency has developed a flexible way of carrying out research & technology projects in the field of Unmanned Maritime Systems (UMS) for future naval applications. This integrated research programme was approved by European defence ministers as early as 2009. So far 15 projects have been launched in that framework for a total value of more than €50 million. Ten EDA Member States (Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain and Sweden) and Norway are currently active in the programme.


Since the establishment of the UMS programme in November 2009, 15 different projects have been carried out or are currently ongoing. The overall programme provided a platform for European defence research in the field of Unmanned Maritime Systems while establishing links with other ongoing efforts, notably in the field of Maritime Mine Counter Measures (MMCM).

The following projects are currently ongoing:

  • Systems Integration (SI)
  • Standard and interfaces for more interoperable European unmanned maritime systems (STANDIN)
  • Safety and Regulations for European Unmanned Maritime Systems (SARUMS)
  • Network-Enabled Cooperation Systems of Autonomous Vehicles (NECSAVE)
  • Buried Mines (BURMIN)
  • Study of Hybrid fuel cells Energy Interoperable System (STHENIS

A study called SABUVIS (Swarm of Biomimetic Underwater Vehicles for Underwater ISR) is currently under contract preparation.