Olli Ruutu, Chief Executive (acting)


Olli Ruutu was appointed Chief Executive ad-interim by the High Representative / Vice President and Head of the European Defence Agency (EDA) Josep Borrell. His mandate began on 1 February 2020 and will run until the appointment of a new Chief Executive.

Mr. Ruutu was appointed Deputy Chief Executive of EDA on 15 November 2017; he took up his duties on 16 March 2018. He has previously worked at EDA between 2009 and 2014, first as Principal Officer and subsequently as Deputy Head of Strategy and Policy Unit. 

Outside of the Agency, Mr.Ruutu has held various posts in his native Finland, most recently he served as Deputy National Armaments Director at the Ministry of Defence of Finland and Director of Materiel Unit at the Resource Policy Department. In addition, he has also worked at the Finnish Permanent Representation to the European Union and the Mission of Finland to NATO.




Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden