Access to documents



Any EU citizen and any natural or legal person residing or having its registered office in the EU has a right of access to the documents held by the Agency, subject to the conditions laid down in the Regulation (EC) No 1049/2001 regarding public access to European Parliament, Council and Commission documents (hereafter referred as “the Regulation”) and in line with the procedure set up in the Decision No. 17/15 adopted on 09 November 2017 by the Chief Executive of the European Defence Agency.

To make an application for access to a document held by the Agency in the exercise of its functions, please send a request to: info(a)

The application must be made in a sufficiently precise manner and must contain sufficient elements to enable the Agency to identify the document(s) requested. Please note that documents can be supplied only in existing languages and formats. The Agency is not required to create a new document, translate a document or gather information in order to reply to your application.

As soon as the Agency receives your application, an acknowledgement will be sent to you. The Agency will deal with your application within a maximum of fifteen working days, unless that period is extended on the conditions laid down in the Regulation.

The Agency may refuse access to a document, inter alia, where its disclosure would undermine the protection of public interest as regards defence and military matters, privacy and the integrity of the individual, commercial interests, legal proceedings and legal advice or if its disclosure would seriously undermine the decision-making process of the Agency.

If your application is refused, or if you do not receive a reply within the period laid down, you may make a confirmatory application to the Agency within fifteen working days by sending an email to the same address stating that it is a confirmatory application and giving the date of registration sent to you with the acknowledgement of your initial application.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK